Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger Still part of us — ECOWAS

Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger Still part of us — ECOWAS

ECOWAS Headquarters, Abuja

Published By: Paul Dada

The Economic Community of West African States says it has yet to be formally notified by ECOWAS by Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger that they have withdrawn from the bloc. It also claims that the three countries are still its important members.

Earlier on Sunday, media outlets had reported that the military regimes of the three countries had announced they exiting ECOWAS.

But the ECOWAS Commission in its reaction in Abuja, on Sunday stated on Sunday that its attention had been drawn to a broadcast on the national television stations of Mali and Niger announcing the decision of the three countries  but the sub-regional group had not formally informed.

“The ECOWAS Commission is yet to receive any direct formal notification from the three member states about their intention to withdraw from the Community.

  • JUST IN: Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso dump ECOWAS
  • AFCON: Impressive Mali sink South Africa 
  • Saving ECOWAS by applying the breaks in Niger Republic

“The ECOWAS Commission, as directed by the Authority of Heads of State and Government, has been working assiduously for the restoration of constitutional order in those countries.

“Burkina Faso, Niger, and Mali remain important members of the Community and the Authority remains committed to finding a negotiated solution to their political impasses.

“The ECOWAS Commission remains seized with the development and shall make further pronouncements as the situation evolves,’’ it said.


The post Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger Still part of us — ECOWAS first appeared on Nigeria Newspapers Online.